Asian Style Chickpeas and Veggies

I thought I would share with you all some of the vegetarian recipes Bennett and I have been trying out lately. Bennett has been such a good sport with this lifestyle change for me, and he has even stated that he now wants to eat vegetarian due to the positive health changes I have already experienced in just three weeks. Plus, viewing Forks over Knives helped him decided that as well!

One of the great benefits of becoming vegetarian is that I love to cook more! Before when I cooked- I was so consumed with how many calories was in what I was cooking and most of my ingredients were processed foods that it just wasn’t enjoyable-I felt almost guilty for cooking it because I knew it wasn’t good for my body. Yes, you can very much eat unhealthy within a vegetarian diet but as long as you make a conscience choice to use lots of vegetables, fruits, legumes, beans, etc. and not sugary and fatty items it’s pretty hard to go wrong. I have also noticed that I am so much more creative in the kitchen as there is such a wide variety of produce to experiment with.

Lastly, Bennett and I have enjoyed coming home from work and spending time in the kitchen cooking and discussing our days. It has now become one of my favorite things to do for quality time with Bennett.

So, without further ramblings…here is a meal that I kind of made up with the help of combining several recipes I saw online-we will just called it Asian Style Chickpeas and Veggies!

Image

(*this picture shows a beautiful avocado, but I am such a novice still in cooking that it wasn’t ripe enough at allllll and we ended up taking it off the final product. But I promise the rest is yummy! 🙂 )

Ingredients:

1 can of chickpeas (also known as garbonzo beans)

1 large onion

2 bell peppers, any color

Peanut oil (or whatever oil you have on hand) to coat the pan (about a tablespoon each)

1 tablespoon of garlic powder

1 tablespoon of onion powder

1 tablespoon of soy sauce

4 tablespoons of Hoisin Sauce

Dash of Sriracha

2 soft wheat tortillas

1. Preheat oven to around 250 degrees and place tortillas in oven to warm for approx. 5-7 minutes.

2. Drain chickpeas and pat dry with paper towel. Heat up sauté pan to medium/high and coat pan with 1-2 tablespoons of peanut oil. Saute for 10 minutes, stirring frequently.
chickpeas

3. Cut up onion and bell peppers into pieces. Heat up another sauté pan to medium/high and coat pan with 1 tablespoon of peanut oil. Saute vegetables until caramelized (approx. 10 minutes).
275

4. Remove chickpeas from pan with a slotted spoon and place on paper towel to soak up excess oil. Place back into the same pan and add garlic powder, onion powder, soy sauce, hoisin sauce and sriracha. Reduce heat to medium-low and allow to cook for 2-3 more minutes.

5. Combine veggies in with the chickpeas to coat the veggies with the same spices and sauces.

6. Place a nice spoonful on each wheat tortilla. You now have yourself a delicious meat free taco or fajita of sorts. The chickpeas and veggies can also be eaten by themselves they are so good!
277

2 thoughts on “Asian Style Chickpeas and Veggies

Leave a Reply

